Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball team represents Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The school’s team currently competes in the Big East Conference. Of Division I programs yet to create a Final 4, Xavier has the most all-time championship wins with 27. Xavier has appeared in the NCAA Tournament 27 times, 15 times in the last 17 decades. On March 11, 2018, Xavier earned its first No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament.
Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. Additionally, they have won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018.
Xavier has been listed one of the top-20 most precious college basketball programs in the US.
The first Xavier Basketball match on record was February 20, 1920 in the Fenwick Club at Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94–52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year run as head coach from 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success continued under second head coach Clem Crowe. Throughout Crowe’s 10 years as Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a record of 96–78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head coach rank fourth all time among Xavier head coaches. [5] After the 1942–43 season, play was suspended for the following two seasons due to World War II. In 1945, the program resumed under the direction of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a list of 3–16.
Back in 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Under Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) throughout the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national tournament for small schools. Xavier ended in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University at the national third-place match, 58–59. 1948 was the only season Xavier appeared in the NAIA Tournament.
Back in 1951, Hirt was replaced as head coach from Ned Wulk. Wulk directed the Musketeers into National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 appearance marked Xavier’s first NIT win, an 84–80 success over Saint Louis.
Following a loss to Bradley from the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head coach from Jim McCafferty. McCafferty headed the Musketeers back to a third consecutive NIT at 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier captured the NIT. That was the very first postseason championship obtained by any Ohio Division I school.
Back in 1961, McCafferty led Xavier for their original appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier dropped to Morehead State in the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky.
McCafferty was replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be accompanied by Don Ruberg (1963–67), George Krajack (1967–71), Dick Campbell (1971–73) and Tay Baker (1973–79).
In 1979, Xavier was among those charter members of this Midwestern City Conference (nicknamed the MCC or Midwestern City , and now known as the Horizon League), which also comprised Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That year also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, who compiled an 88–86 list during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT.

Read more: walker-sports.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *